The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is the voice of the architectural profession, dedicated to serving its members, advancing their value, and improving the quality of the built environment.


Since 1857, the AIA has represented the professional interests of America’s architects. As AIA members, more than 77,000 licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners express their commitment to excellence and livability in our nation’s buildings and communities.


Membership in the AIA offers resources to help you compete in today’s market and keeps you informed of critical professional issues.  The AIA has membership categories for licensed architects (AIA) and non-licensed individuals (Associate AIA).  Dues vary by type of membership and date of joining.  To learn more and join, visit the AIA national web site at




Membership Categories

Architect Member (AIA)
Individuals licensed to practice architecture in a U.S. state or territory.


Associate Member (Assoc. AIA)
Assoc. AIA is open to individuals who meet one of the following criteria:

  • Recent graduate with a degree in architecture
  • Currently enrolled in the Intern Development Program (IDP) and working toward licensure
  • Currently work under the supervision of an architect or hold a degree in architecture
  • Faculty member in a university program in architecture


International Associate Member (Int'l Assoc. AIA)
Individuals who have an architecture license or equivalent from a non-U.S. licensing authority.

Allied Member
Allied membership is offered by the local chapter, open to individuals affiliated with the architectural profession and share a special interest in the built environment.




Renewing Members

To renew your membership, contact the AIA national office at 1-800-242-3837. or fax your invoice with credit card payment information to the AIA national office at (202) 626-7547. 


If you are a current AIA or Associate AIA member, you can renew online at